Motivational, My Life Story, Thoughts

Rest for the Weary

12810315_10156643329135525_1210769694_o.jpg

Oh just in case you were wondering, that’s apple juice for my upset stomach. A week of bed rest is enough to drive a workaholic nuts!

I’ve never been a fan of “lazy days”. I have always believed in the philosophy that a day with little productivity, is a day wasted. This way of thinking has brought me to the point of overworking myself, thus causing my arm to swell due to excessive computer use (Too much Illustrator and Typing – for twelve hours straight) AND getting my hands wet right after to cook for the family.

Over the past week I have lost the ability to lift, to type, to text, to draw, to paint and to do even the simplest tasks with my right hand. My “downtime” has made me reflect (a lot), and this experience has taught quite the contrary of my initial belief on productivity. It has changed my mindset that:

It’s never a good idea to push yourself to your limits, EVEN if you love what you do.

To be able to be productive, one had to work without exceeding physical limits, to claim the benefits of rest, AND never forget to aim for one’s well-being in the process.

I can’t even adequately express how much I have missed the use of my right hand, which is also why I’m happily typing away right now on my blog. I might soon even be back on court to play badminton! (YAY!)

I never realized how important my right hand was to me until it grew tired one day. I guess I forgot that even hands, need to rest.

 

XO,

PEARL

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

