Motivational, Random, Thoughts, Uncategorized

SnapperDoodles Studio

 

workspace
Whew February has been such a whirlwind of adventures!

Admittedly, I haven’t had much time to create new lettering artworks nowadays, so I figured I might post something different!

Recently, in an interview, I’ve been asked about what it’s like working in a “different” setting. It gave me an idea to give a quick tour around here! Oh! Just in case you were wondering, it’s not a legit “studio”, it’s just my happy place, my work space a.k.a the attic.

studio

 

When I began the design for the studio, I couldn’t stick with one theme        for my room. I wanted something modern, yet I also tend to go for a        more rustic feel. I have a thing for florals and pastels, but white seemed        to be a “cleaner” alternative. There are so many things I wanted for a      space to call my own, but because of my indecisiveness, eventually I    stopped thinking about how to do it, and just let the room transform     itself.

Being the DIY-er that I am, I wanted to repaint my boring black swivel   chair. I chose bright yellow as it matches my closet (not shown in photos).     I thought it might look cute with a little “drippy” ice cream effect on the    top.

 

wall

When we started renovating the house, my old room was turned into an office so I had to share a room with my siblings. It took half a year before the portion of the attic was completed. For the longest time, I’ve always wanted  white wall where I could stick colorful postcards and artworks. Here it finally is, my own inspiration wall. 🙂 The best part about it is how it began as a bare, white wall and is constantly growing into a colorful mosaic of memories.

worksare

tablesetup

My work space pretty much looks like this on most days. Notebooks scattered everywhere. I have several notebooks that I use on a daily basis: Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf Planner, Muji notebook and a To-Do List Notebook. I’m such an OC freak, I don’t think I can survive working without planners, post-it’s, calendars and lists!

Music. My work area is never complete without some tunes. Nope, my bluetooth speaker isn’t top of the line or anything, but I’m happy with what I’ve got. Spotify is another creative workplace staple.

Why do I have so many pen holders? I segregate my brushes, tech pens and colored pens. I’m OC that way. Haha!

notebooks

Aside from the notebooks I use everyday, I have some lined up on my table, too.

From left to right: Unlined Floral Notebook (Paper St. Ph), Pink Daycraft Notebook, Unlined Journal (Sketchnotes), Dotted Spring Notebook (Muji), Eiffel Tower Travel Notebook (Gift) and Floral Hardbound Journal (Gift).

camera

I saw the tiny macaron photo holder while browsing through a store the other day. It was pricey for such a little thing, but it was so cute, I couldn’t resist!

shelf
I designed this shelf myself, its construction took a while, but it was definitely worth the wait. I just wanted a place where I could store little, yet significant mementos. The little cat figurines are from my recent trip to Japan. The blue Eiffel Tower on the upper shelf is from Paris.  The porcelain cupcake is a memory from my first job after graduation. Next to this is a mini canvas which I bought from Guam, the brown bracelet hanging from it is a handmade craft from Istorya. Last but not the least, the Instax on the topmost shelf was a gift from someone close to my heart.

My attic isn’t the best “studio” there is, but it’s what I’ve got and it’s my own happy place. It took a while to bring together, but it made me learn to value the PROCESS that had brought it to its completion. When life seems like a bare, white wall, trust the process and see how things will unfold in His perfect time. Life has been teaching me the value of PATIENCE these days, but I’ll save that for a different post. 🙂

There is no such thing as a messy workplace. If that is where you are comfortable, where you feel most free to be yourself and to spread your wings, that is YOUR creative space, let no one take that freedom from you.

Related article:

10 Messy Desks of Successful People

 

X,
yes

Standard

Leave a Reply

