Motivational, My Life Story, Thoughts, Uncategorized

A Letter to My Future Valentine

vday doodle

Dear Valentine,

It’s a bright Saturday morning on February 14. I sit here at the park, watching as couples take their leisurely stroll. I see they twinkle in their eyes as they look at each other as if it’s the first time they met. There is so much love around today and I  can’t help but wonder… “Where are you, my other half? What’s taking you so long?”

Yes, I admit I am envious. It’s the day of love and here I am, alone on a dusty old park bench holding a half-eaten turkey sandwich instead of my lover’s hand. So many thoughts drifted through my mind. “Did cupid forget about me?”, “Is there something I’m not doing right? Maybe I should learn to flirt better.”, “I’ve been single all my life, oh, what might people say?”, “Should I be more active in looking for my soul mate or should I just go with the flow?”, “I can’t stand going through another year alone.”

As much as I’d hate to admit it. Yes, I AM bitter on the sweetest day of the year.

But as I sat there (yes, with my sandwich keeping me company), I realized a handful of things that would help me hate Valentine’s Day a little less. And that is why I am writing this letter to you today…


 

My future valentine. Hello. I know we haven’t met yet, but I know you would love it when you read this letter someday.

Would it surprise you if I told you that each night as I lay my head down to sleep, I think about you? I wonder what you’re like and how we would meet. Sometimes during the clearest nights when the stars shine the brightest, I look at the moon and hope that across the miles, you are looking up at it too.

People say that love is all about timing. Do you think we’ve crossed paths already in the past? I’d love to think so, maybe when the time is right, we’ll find each other again. It took me a while before I realized the power of these simple words: “Why rush?”. True enough, why did I ever? I may not have you in my life yet, but I know that you are worth every second of the wait. I am no longer looking for a fling, I want something real. If waiting is what it takes to have it, then wait for you I shall.

I know that someday when the time is right, our paths will cross again, and for the first time in my life, I we would just KNOW. You will be the one who could give me the warmest hugs. I know your smile would still give me the butterflies no matter how long we’ve been together. You’ll be the one who would hold my hand through life’s toughest times. You will be the motivation for me to become a better version of myself each day. You will be my cheerleader whenever I feel frustrated. And I know that you are the only one who can love me unconditionally at my best and at my worst. As we grow older, I will still feel like the happiest kid when I’m with you. For a love like this, my valentine, I will not trade for anything so fleeting.

No, there is nothing I’m doing wrong and there is no need to pretend to be someone I’m not. I know you will love me and see me as beautiful even during no-makeup-days, sweatshirt-days and bad-hair-days. I admit I am weird in my own way, but I will fall deeper in love with you because that’s when you will say: “That’s great! Let’s be weird together.”

Valentine, it could take weeks, months or years before our paths meet. But I know when that day comes, we will both be ready for the best that is in store. I may not have you now for Valentine’s day, but it fills me with joy knowing that you are mine and I am yours since the beginning of time.

So then, my Valentine,

Until we meet.

 


Happy Valentine’s Day to all of you!

 

During my bazaar in DLSU (University Week, Feb 9-11) I heard dozens of passers-by dreading the arrival of February 14th. Nobody even dreaded the usual Friday the 13th. That’s why I thought of writing about what a single’s perspective would be like, and what it should rather be.

I wrote this blog post because I know how it feels like to be part of this fast-paced generation. I’ve been through the stage of peer pressure, when getting into a relationship seems like “fun” and helps one “fit-in” (though I’m not saying that’s the reason for most relationships). I can say that I’ve never had a boyfriend all my life, but have been through several “in-between” relationships that left me heartbroken (no words could explain the pain I went through). It is human nature to look for love, especially now, but sometimes it takes the most painful relationships to teach oneself to learn to wait.

Pray unceasingly. God has the best in store for you. 🙂

 

X,

Untitled-2

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

