Motivational, My Life Story, Thoughts

New Year Realizations

Hello everyone! It’s been a while (and I mean a really, really long time) since my last post. December has been such a blast, as I’ve decided to take a long break from work and took some time to spend time with my family. The short break has also helped me ponder on things, and this new year, I have a couple of  resolutions  realizations.


 

Realization 1:

Routine (n.) – a boring state or situation in which things are always done the same way (Webster’s)

On New Year’s Eve I was busy drawing on coasters without using a pencil beforehand. Dad commented: “You don’t pencil first before drawing with an ink pen?” to which I replied “Sometimes when you get used to it, you just go straight to using a pen”. It took me a few days before I realized, it’s a dangerous thing being “used to” something. As a person, this is what we call a routine. As an artist, this is poison. We can’t go on about life dragging ourselves along the path of mundane routines. If we could write our story, would it be like a broken record playing the same tune each day? 2015 is a blank slate where we could choose to do better, and I say “choose to” because it requires a choice and a conscious effort. Every day is a choice, to smile or frown, to hold grudges or forgive, to try something new or stick to routine.

1426573_1529401760671792_6366971930574406689_n

 

Realization 2:

Discontent (adj.) – not pleased or satisfied (Webster’s)

It’s not necessarily a bad thing. It opens your mind to the possibility of something better. Over the past couple of weeks, my mind has been a factory of ideas. There are so many things I would like to launch for SnapperDoodles this 2015. However while slowly turning  ideas into reality, from one idea to another, and one sample output to the next, I saw that they weren’t as good as I had hoped – and yes of course I was quick to give up. A dear friend told me: “It’s good that you are unhappy with the outcome, it simply shows that there is still room for improvement. There is hope to create something better. Why give up?”

20140609_151606_1

 

Realization 3:

Love (n.) and (v.) – a feeling of strong or constant affection for a person (Webster’s)

Fiction (n.) – written stories about people and events that are not real : literature that tells stories which are imagined by the writer

I must admit I’ve always wondered if “true love” is just an emotion confined in the realms of fiction books and imagination. There had been a point in my life of course, where I sought for affection and ended up clinging to something utterly temporary – and painful. By God’s redeeming grace and His perfect time, He opened my eyes to see that the love in fiction books, is real. For fellow bookworms, yes someone like Augustus Waters exists. Someone will come along and love you unconditionally – regardless of what you wear, the bad hair days, the highly unusual food cravings, the WWII-kind-of-mood-swings, they will love you because you are YOU. This will also be that someone who will make you finally believe in the elusive reality of “Forever”.

10921856_10155114865835525_1668122319_n

 

Realization 4:

Faith (n.) –  “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” (Hebrews 11:1)

I not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ve always been afraid of New Years. I know what you’re thinking:  “What?! Why? But it’s an exciting thing to welcome another year! Lots of fireworks – and food!”

Like most people, I am a person who is prone to fear, worry, regret and insecurity. I am insecure about my abilities, where I am and where I’m going. I regret the past and try to charge it to experience. I worry about the future, and I fear it at the same time. Fear of what the year may bring, fear of the incapability to meet my own standards, fear of the possible failure to keep Snapperdoodles going, fear of displeasing my peers, fear here, there and everywhere.

On New Year’s Eve, our room was silent, I could only hear the breaths of my sleeping brothers next to me. They we sleeping so soundly despite the loud noise – or maybe the noise was really just in my head. All those fears, the worries and the doubts. I quieted the voices in my head and prayed, earnestly and sincerely: “Father, I’m scared of the coming year and what it would be like for me.” I read the Bible and this beautiful verse brought me to silent tears.

Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you (Hebrews 13:5)

IMG_1440

NEVER ( adv.) – not in any degree :  not under any condition

Never. Now that I think about it, what a strong word that is. How many times have the people in our lives live up to that one-word promise?

The welcoming of a new year could be a beautiful chance to start anew, or another dreadful 365-days to live through. Whatever it might be for us, it should be considered a blessing nonetheless.

For those who are afraid of the future, like myself here is what God told me  on New Year’s Eve:

“I know you are worried about many things. Have you not seen how I have brought you through 2014? Dont you believe that I can bring you through again this time? I have never left you to fend for yourself. I never left you, and I never will. I know you do not doubt Me, but yourself and your abilities to make it through another year. Throughout 2014, I have shown my power through your weaknesses and I will continue to. So do not worry about what you can’t do, this time, think about what I can do.”

Have faith. He will bring you through.

Xo,

Untitled-2

Standard

Leave a Reply

