Random, Thoughts, Tips and Tricks

Tools of the Trade

Hello Everyone!

Four months into the Lettering journey and it has been such a roller coaster ride indeed! I have received many questions as to what materials I use in lettering and watercolor. To help other aspiring artists, I dedicate this post to you. ๐Ÿ™‚ย I came up with a list of Must-Haves as well as tips on the following materials.

 

Watercolor:

edi1

1. Sakura Koi Watercolor Field Set

Oh YES! By far the best watercolor set I’ve tried. This set has vibrant colors that are perfect if you’re going for a sunny and happy illustrations such as fashion, food and nature. Along with the lovely color palette is the waterbrush; this makes it so much easier to a lovely light-to-dark effect, prominent in most watercolor works.

I recommend this one for Intermediate Artists who already have a good background and fundamentals in watercolor. This set costs PHP 900 (yikes, pricey) but looking back, to me, it was worth every single peso.

2. Prang Watercolor

On the lefthand side is the Prang Watercolor set. It comes in a set of 8 and 16 colors. I bought the set of 8 to try it out first- so far unlike the Koi, Prang is STICKY and other users of this set mentioned that it is SWEET (not that they tasted it! They say that the ants love it). No worries though, as long as you keep it closed in a clean space, it won’t be ant-food.

I normally use this for lettering works because the colors are more solid and straightforward. Prang is the perfect set for beginners and those who want to try it out before going deeper into the art of watercolor.

22

3. Faber Castell WatercolorPencils

I’ve always been afraid to color my works, until afterย I decided to venture out into watercolor. I began with the watercolor pencils to achieve basic knowledge before I actually tried using the real deal. Not much to say about this except that it’s good practice!

 

Lettering and Typography

sd1

 

Okay before all else, here’s my Number 1 advice even to all my workshop students, never, ever use MyGel. Haha! You work real hard on your lettering….and then it smudges! Here are the pens I use for lettering to avoid that smudging problem.

Finding the perfect pen is like finding your soulmate. My favorite by far is the Artline, though more pricey than the rest, it’s just my type! (pun intended).

pens

 

1. Sakura Micron

Hmmm. This one is difficult. Most people say it’s a great tool for lettering, I guess it writes a bit roughly compared to the rest. Micron is usually out of stock in the local bookstore however, and getting my hands on one of these was a stroke of luck!

2. UniPin Fineliner

This is my second favorite, it writes smoothly and comes in many different sizes, 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, you name it. The Uni Pin writes smoothly but the ink-flow isn’t as consistent as the Artline. This can be found in the local bookstore, they’ve always got lots on stock so, go get hoarding!

3. Artline Drawing Pen

Yes! My favorite. This costs around PHP 85 if I’m not mistaken, but the quality is near perfect. I use this on all my artworks and it also comes in various sizes as well but the range is not as diverse as the Uni Pin.

4. Marvy 0.005

My little Marvy. I got mine from Hong Kong when it was still unavailable here in the Philippines. I found the 0.005 tip quite cute so I bought this one, it writes really, really thinly – like a strand of hair. But the ink flow isn’t as good because of the small tip.

5. Brush Pen

I barely use mine. If you ever think of buying this one for lettering, might as well stick to Tech Pens. The brush tip is horrible (rough tip, low quality) and pretty difficult to control.

6. Calligraphy Pen

The Artline Calligraphy Pen is another favorite, if you want to do calligraphy stick with this and not the brush pen.

 

Most of my materials can be found in the local bookstore (National Bookstore),ย yep,ย it’s my second home. My trip to the mall is never complete without visiting it haha! Anyway, I hope these tips and tricks would be useful as you venture out in your watercolor and lettering journey.

 

I’d love to share more techniques with you through a Mini workshop!

Registration and Schedules here: SnapperDoodles Workshop Registration

 

Stay creative!

Untitled-2

Standard

3 thoughts on “Tools of the Trade

  1. Pingback: Tools of the Trade (Features and Reviews) | SnapperDoodles

Leave a Reply

