My Life Story, Thoughts

The Truth About Freelancing

10676406_10154644062155525_2278899306799228295_n

Who ever said freelancing is all rainbows and butterflies? Is it really greener on the other side of formal employment? I guess it’s time to lay out all the cards and have a take from different perspectives.

So. Freelancing. To some it may seem like there’s no better way to go than to “Be your own boss”. Isn’t that amazing? No more getting pushed around, yelled at and embarrassed in front of your office mates. Better yet, you have all the time in the world to work at your own pace, arrange your own schedules and even squeeze in a few minutes  hours for yourself Facebook! Oh wait there’s more! For those with studios, they are five steps away from the “office”. Woah. Awesome right? Talk about freedom, flexibility and work-life balance. Oh, bliss!

Well, that’s one way to look at freelancing. Here’s another:

When you wake up early in the morning and look out the window, you admire the serenity and anticipate all that the day might bring (which isn’t much to be honest). Anyway, as you go through the day, you are puzzled where all the inspiration went. As a freelance artist, it’s difficult to produce beautiful art when uninspired. Imagine trying to squeeze water out of  dry rug, that’s how it feels like, or maybe it’s just me. So the rest of the day which you hoped would be more productive ends up with a mess of eraser dusts, pencil shavings and that same, clean white paper you started with.

Of course the entire week isn’t at all that bad. It happens to me mostly on Mondays (Why, oh why?)

The BETTER days are composed of several completed artworks, proposals made ready, on-site visits, most drafts approved and most of all – happy clients. Now that, is Incomparable. Sheer. Bliss. Especially for a workaholic like myself. Knowing that your work has paid off is one of the most satisfying rewards in the freelance business.

My BEST days look like this: Imagine waiting ages for the train to arrive and standing behind a fifty-people line in the blistering heat, perfect right? The Philippine public transportation could do better. Anyway,  I go through this to meet up with people for a SnapperDoodles Lettering workshop. It might seem like such a stretch, but after meeting the people, exchanging stories and having a glimpse into the beauty of their lives; the momentary sacrifice has been worth it.


 

Before I left my day job, I knew I wanted to do freelance with hopes that it would bring me closer to my dream of becoming a famous artist. I wanted succeed on my own, but I didn’t know entirely where I was going, I was lost and was too proud to admit it. I prayed hard for months, asking if leaving the corporate scene would be wise or utterly stupid. It would be like giving up the oasis while you’re in a barren desert.

Months passed and my prayer was answered. He asked me this simple question:

“Who’s in charge here?”

With that, I let go of my own dream. Now I live with purpose, and a renewed goal: To make Him known through art.

I know the major shift of career has been a big jump for me, to go from the banking industry into the creative. To be completely honest, it isn’t as financially secure as it would have been with a day job. Freelancing isn’t all that easy, it comes with a great price. I’ve sacrificed a lot. I had to cut back on my shopping budget, I would rarely eat out and most of my finances are reinvested into the business. Despite all this though, I could say that I am happy. Genuinely happy.

Here I learned that when you have little, you learn to work with what little you have and you learn to appreciate the simple, meaningful things in life.

Now, I’m not telling you to join me in this risky freelancing business. I just hope that you would do what ultimately gives your life purpose and meaning. Life is short. If today was your last day, would you say you lived life to the fullest?

 

Lots of feels and thoughts here today.

Cheers,

Untitled-2

 

 


 

WORKSHOP UPDATE:

I recently informed over on Instagram that I won’t be holding big class workshops anymore, here’s why:

I believe it is more effective to teach as well as to build relationships in small groups at a time. You can only have a handful of friends in a room of fifty people. That’s why I would like to keep the fun and casual vibe of the Snapperdoodles Workshop by keeping the numbers small but significant 🙂

Workshop Registration: HERE

 

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “The Truth About Freelancing

  1. Pingback: The Truth About Freelancing | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

