My Life Story, Random, Thoughts

A Year of Many Firsts

10511249_10154602517745525_8044614934152333097_n

 

I’ve been posting this photo on my social networking accounts because it is another first for me this 2014. I only ever share the whole story here on my blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

Two days ago, I was at home and a thought randomly came to mind:

“It is in my hands to give itย my very best in every project I do. But it is up to the Lord how He will bless the business.”

A few hours later, Joanna of Istorya referred me to a news channel to be featured in one of their segments. After a brief phone call with the channel representative, I was all nervous and being the wallflower that I am, I wanted to back out of the spotlight. Now, who wouldn’t want to be on television to bask in that few minutes of fame? Me.

I’ve been a wallflower for as long as I could remember. No, I didn’t hate the spotlight, it’s just uncomfortable having all eyes on me, all attention focused on what I do and what I say. I have been too used to working behind-the-scenes, during class projects I would do the artwork and have someone else discuss, during gatherings I would sit and watch other people mingle, all my life I was an observer. It has been a fear for me ever since high school, living too long in the background has it’s disadvantages, evidently.

Don’t worry, I’ve also asked myself how crazy I would be if I didn’t take this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. But what kept me from letting this pass was this simple thought:

“Pearl, when will you step out of that comfort zone?ย The fear, the anxiety you feel right now isn’t what matters. Rather, it is how you would feel AFTER.”

The day came and I was nervous beyond belief! Imagine a fish leaving the water, or a vampire going into the light or something! After a short chat with the interviewer, my nerves calmed a little, it was fun sharing my life and the story behind SnapperDoodles (though not as elaborate as my first post on this blog).

 

10612886_10154602526985525_6360042385303852506_n

True enough, the shoot went far better than I had expected. Sure, I stuttered A LOT, lost for words A LOT, and I probably mumbled and rambled on A LOT, which was embarrassing (for the lack of a better term). But all in all I praise God for another new experience this 2014. It is the THIRD month of SnapperDoodles and TinyTreasuresPH but for all that has happened, and all that will happen, I can only give all the glory to Him.

It brings me great joy right now, to remember once again the promise He gave me:

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Life will definitely have ups and downs, but you gotta hold on tight for the ride by holding on to THE Promise. ๐Ÿ™‚

Praise God!

Untitled-2

Standard

6 thoughts on “A Year of Many Firsts

  1. Pingback: A Year of Many Firsts | Christians Anonymous

  2. Pingback: Treasure Every First | APreachasKid

Leave a Reply

