My Life Story

When God Gives Surprises

1623647_10154571046935525_4107365531398422048_n (1)

Every new year, I dread seeing the clock strike 12:00AM and the fireworks don’t add to the appeal of “new beginnings”. It’s a phobia I have, January 1. I don’t really know what caused it, the fact that everything is made new, a chance to start over, false resolutions make me want to hide in my hermit hole and wait for the celebrations to pass.

A few days ago I’ve been having doubts with my future and my career. Life just becomes so much more complicated without the support of the ones dearest to me. I told myself I would begin fasting again because I needed to refocus and find my path once again.

I was surprised when I wrote the date on my journal, I realized I that the day started fasting was September 1st. I wrote a list of things I will be asking and praying for during the fast, one of which is my future. Being used to having every single detail of my day planned out, thoughts of the unknown future just scare me.

Reading through the Bible that morning, I praise God for the comfort of His words that came at the perfect time:

…we do not lose heart” -2 Cor 4:1

 

We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed,but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.” -2 Cor 4:8

 

Therefore we do not lose heart.” -2 Cor 4:16

Do not lose heart” turned up twice in the passage. Have you ever had that feeling of amazement? How things feel like a mini-coincidence but it never is? Well my story doesn’t end here.

Many months ago, I’ve been looking for someone in the Philippines who could make me a stainless steel ring with my life verse engraved inside. Most of those I have asked offered PHP 12,000 which was way beyond my budget, so I let that little thought go knowing I couldn’t afford such a pricey item. (I’m not the richest artist of course!) A couple of weeks later I offered to do a free lettering art for Istorya, who I found on Instagram. Joanna offered to make me one from her shop in return 🙂 I was so thankful that when the door for a personalized ring was closed, a new window of blessing came so I could have my life verse written on an accessory (and I didn’t have to shell out 12K!), God is amazing in many, many ways!

On September 1st, the package from Istorya came, just when I started my fasting, and exactly when I had some doubts about my future.

 

On the front is my name… and engraved at the back is my life verse. This would have been enough to surprise me…
10511125_10154571047760525_7748803281454926079_n 10620707_10154571047380525_5164602147381761330_n

But God has something amazing (yet again) up His sleeve. Joanna from Istorya even gave me a handmade bookmark from her shop, with my life verse as well!

During the time of doubt, God reminds me with this verse on the bookmark:

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” -Jeremiah 29:11

When God gives promises, it is essential to claim it and believe it, lest you fall into doubt like I did.

10645098_10154571048835525_3955238525198040668_n

On September 1st, SnapperDoodles finally moved in to the new attic-studio! After a year of waiting and seven hours of re-organizing, I finally have a place to call my own. It isn’t the perfect artsy-space yet, I know, but I believe the inspiration wall on my desk here will grow eventually! 🙂 The day ended with a simple family house-warming party with a bottle of Pepsi and some Vegetarian Chips haha! The last surprise were some house-warming gifts from my lovely parents, the flower on the photo is one of them. It’s a treasure, especially for a flower-lover like myself.

10521294_10154571299160525_2525553517782925192_n

During the Chrissy Costanza concert last August 30, out of nowhere a still, small voice asked me this one, simple question:

“Are you ready?”

Until today I don’t know what that was really about, love life, career, a new challenge to face, but maybe, just maybe… It might have meant if I’m ready for a new beginning.

Being through rough waters two years ago, this new room felt like a new beginning. Because of January 1st’s, I’ve never been a fan of “starting fresh”. But today is a day I live to embrace, the newness of it all, the unknown future as well as the wonderful  feeling TRUTH of being loved so dearly by God.

Oh September 1 has been a day of many surprises! I tell you, when God gives surprises, He gives it abundantly. Don’t worry about the closed doors in the past, look forward to the day when He leads you to the right door, there lies blessings in abundance.

 

Malachi 3:10 “Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.”

 

Maybe new beginnings aren’t so bad after all?

Untitled-2

 

 

 

 

Istorya :  Facebook Profile

SnapperDoodles : Instagram

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

