Motivational, My Life Story

See the Bigger Picture

10629670_10154546016410525_542683937483578267_n

It’s too early to give up and to say there’s nothing worth looking forward to in the future.

I remember back then when I was in college, I was probably like most teens who want it all to just…END. In all aspects of life, admittedly, I’m a big fat quitter. I wanted all my problems, struggles, insecurities to just go away; but I had to go through a handful of storms before I realized God’s purpose behind it all.

The second month of SnapperDoodles hasn’t been a bed of roses. I remember being asked:

“What is the most challenging experience you’ve encountered as a full-time artist?”

I guess the lack of support from the people closest to me would be on top of the list. The thought of it just seems to present itself, every single time I draw or start a new project.. I couldn’t even imagine a day when I would finally have that support, and freely draw without being reminded that I’m being such a disappointment.

I don’t know if it’s by chance that I came across this article as I write this post:

The Unbounded Spirit: Twelve Things My Grandmother Told Me Before She Died

Let others take you as you are, or not at all.  Speak your truth even if your voice shakes.  By being yourself, you put something beautiful into the world that was not there before.  So walk your path confidently and don’t expect anyone else to understand your journey, especially if they have not been exactly where you are going.

No, life isn’t meant to be easy. No, you can’t please every single person you meet. No, you can’t just do something just because it’s your passion, but you do it because you know it will take you places.

 

Hearing the song He Who Began a Good Work during the worship last Sunday reminded me that despite my personal struggles, it’s far too early to quit. I know we all have struggles, no matter what mask we put on in real life or on social media. But during the hardest times, remember that you are only seeing one tiny part of the whole.

Everything that happens helps you grow, even if it’s hard to see right now.  Circumstances will direct you, correct you, and perfect you over time.  So whatever you do, hold on to hope.  The tiniest thread will twist into an unbreakable cord.  Let hope anchor you in the possibility that this is not the end of your story – that the change in the tides will eventually bring you to peaceful shores.

Indeed, “This is not the end of your story”. Entrust everything to God, and He will get you through life’s greatest storms. One day when you look back, you will see the bigger picture and that those little bumps, cracks and valleys made a beautiful masterpiece.

 

You can’t change the situation, but you can always change your attitude.

Life isn’t perfect, but there’s always a way through.

 

Hold on tight.

Untitled-2

Standard

Leave a Reply

